Hardware depreciation rate and shopping suggestions?

Brenchen

Hi guys, I'm new to the DJ world so just wanted to get an idea on the titled?

Firstly, does hardware (let say mixers/controllers etc.) depreciate rapidly (ie. inverse exponentially) after the initial purchase like motor vehicles or bicycles do, even if the items are still in "like-new" conditions with minimal usage? Or does the price go down linearly with respect to its usage and cosmetics?

And secondly, when I do my shopping, the five places I usually look for (excl. forums) are ebay (most expensive), StoreDJ, DJ City, JB Hifi and gumtree, but their price (for brand new at least) are highly similar. Are there any other distributors or online shops you guys use that can get a better price? I've seen somewhere that someone recommended Amazon from US and use a 3rd party shipping service, however, with the current exchange rate, it seems the few dollar savings are not really worth the hassle.

Hope I don't annoy anyone by asking these types of questions, and thank you in advance.

I personally thing hardware (and software) depreciates very quickly from the moment you purchase. I don't think second hand gear is worth a lot.

Secondly, you can buy whenever you like. If you wait for sales they won't really come until you've bought all your stuff lol it's usually how it's works. Store DJ are good because they usually knock down retail price automatically (in the perth store they do). Otherwise online retailers or straight from the manufacturer are good. Try mingle with people in store and become friends. It's always good to have mates working in stores for discounts. I don't think I've paid full price for anything I own lol I'm not saying you should take advantage of the situation but it helps to save a few bucks :)