*Warning*Newb*alert*

oznewbie

Hey guys,

Yes - I'm a complete newb to the Dj world. No denying that. :thumbdown: I've a long way to go. Any advice, no matter how small or insignificant it may seem will be appriciated. :thumright:

I had some cheap as decks in my teens, circa the year 2000. I gave up as the equipment was sh*t, I preferred to listen to good mixes instead of repeatedly listening to my own "train crash sh*t" ..... and ..... i didn't have the patience.

skip forward 15 years, and at 29 (30 in less than a fortnight :S) and I've decided to give it a go again.

I've set myself up with some basic, but capable (in my eyes) equipment

Built myself a functioning ikea desk.

And putting in some practice ....

Equipment -

A pair of CDJ 400's

DJM 400

Pair of HDJ 1000's

Denon Mc2000

Serato (upgraded to the full version)

I had a set of b2031a's organised to pick up couple of days ago, but they sold them before I got there :(

So I bought the denon/serato instead - lol. Probably a bad decision, but I wanted it to bring out by the pool on weekends to practice more.

Just using a Sony HiFi at the minute. I've dropped a lot of cash on all this in about a week, so the monitors might need to go on the back burner for a bit

I'm still learning to beatmatch, and doing so-so successfully ..... Well, I am cheating and looking a grids etc in serato, but not using the sync button.

I am starting to get the hang of what to listen for. Soon I'm hoping to not have to use them at all.

anyway, here's some pics. Let me know what you think.

Going to get some artwork, lights etc next.

6wlZGq.jpg

1UZesj.jpg

Welcome to the forum mate :safe:

I see you've already found the pics of your setup thread. Have a browse through the beginner section, as there are plenty of videos to help you master the basics :)

Also if you can't find something, or want some personalised help for anything, feel free to make a thread in the relevant section

welcome mate. we all start from somewhere!