4 Practical Traktor MIDI FX Mappings For Mobile DJs

Cupe

mobile-dj-midi-mappings.jpg.optimal.jpg

DJ Techtools’ Mobile Maven, Angel, is back with another tutorial. This time, he’s showing off a handful of incredibly useful and practical MIDI mappings that every mobile DJ should check out. These mappings include echo freeze, censor, loop active, and keylock. In this tutorial, Angel shows off what these mappings do, why mobile DJs will find them so useful, and how to map them to your DJ controllers.

Traktor Is Better With Mappings

I’ve been using DJ programs since about 2007, first on Virtual DJ, then fooled around with Mixx, then made the switch the Traktor. With Traktor, I’ve never had a stock controller with pre-mapped features that I wanted or needed for my workflow. A few years ago I was working with another DJ friend of mine and he showed me all the nifty pre-built/pre-mapped effects that come on Pioneer DJ’s DDJ Serato controllers. 

As a mobile DJ, sometimes it can feel like Traktor isn’t quite optimized for my workflow – so that’s why I made this tutorial. This edition of mobile tips is about mapping a few handy effects that are just as useful for the mobile scene as they are for the club or turntablists out there. Here are the effects we’re going to be mapping:

• Echo Freeze: A easy, one button solution for transitions, or for cutting a sound short on the fly without the abruptness of just hard-stopping a track.
  • Censor Button: A simple way to “edit” curse words when you don’t have a clean edit but want to play the track anyway.
  • Loop Active: A feature I first used during turntable routines, allows you to start a song ahead of a saved/cued loop, and the loop will activate once the playhead reaches said loop, all done hands free.