Should I become a DJ?

J2JSmall

Hi Everyone,

I am new here and definitely new to the DJ world. I am currently sitting on the fence so to speak about becoming a DJ and following what I want to do, I am 22 years of age and haven't really played with DJ equipment before, I have an extreme knowledge of IT and most audio Technology, I work as an IT Coordinator and have been exposed to PC's/Mac's and Technology now for 90% of my life, I feel that my passion for music and abilities with technology would be a great combo but not sure if I should or not. I live on the Gold Coast and have a fair bit of spare time, outside of my job I also run my own Event Photography Business which is doing rather well.

Money to me isn't a massive issue but I wasn't looking to get the best of the best to kick things off since it would just confuse me, if there is one thing I have learnt it is too slowly wade in to new things and not just jump straight to the deep end. I have been watching hundreds of DJ's over the years and had a keen interest but never pursued it. I know it won't be an "Overnight" success and it will take a great deal of time before I am putting out my own mixes but I am keen to learn.

I am unsure what exactly I should be starting with in terms of gear but have a good interest in Traktor gear, I was looking at the Traktor S2 to kick things off, open to opinions though as you guys are a lot better than me at this stuff and know your way around.

I have already decided on a name J2J-Small... Fondly enough this is ironic because it’s just my name… my first name Joel, my second name John and my last name is German for Small, so this is where I get the J to J Small from, it is also ironic that my last name is German for small as I am 6"5'. So I thought this would be a great name as it sounds catchy and is ironic in its own way. What you all think?

Anyways, looking for a little encouragement here and tips to starting out.

Thanks,

J2JSmall