Buying new sub and speakers

boostedVT

Hi guys,

I was just after a bit of advice. Firstly I am no pro Dj or anything, so this is all just for home use.

And I do love my sound so I am very particular about it.

I currently own a set of american audio dj decks which I will be upgrading to poineer ones later in future so I can plug in usb etc, and I am running a set of JBL JRX 125's off a crown amplifer.

Now its a very good set up for home use with very good clarity and good top end sound, however next to no low end bass.

What I am wanting to buy is a set of dual 18inch subs, I had a look at the RCF 8006 AS which was absolutely awesome (can anyone recommend something similar with the same kind of power).

I would also like to buy a set of self powered speakers like the Electro voice ones which allow direct ipod connectivity so I can just take them to mates places etc when doing small parties/gigs. (either a set of 12's or 15's)

So I dont know too much about this stuff so can someone tell me what the best options are. I dont really want to spend past $4000 for the sub. and maybe about $1200 max on the other speakers.

But I would like top quality range (no cheapy stuff)

I will also require a good decent crossover to hook everything up. (again I dont know much about these so if someone can explain more, that would be great)

Also where in melbourne is the best place to buy this gear from ( a few contacts would be great)

And I would only like to buy reputable brands such as RCF, EV, QSC etc

Mate unless you have at least a set of 4 private roadies I wouldn't even touch a dual 18.

I have a single 18, and it requires AT LEAST 2 people to get it in and out of the car, not to mention you will probably need a trailer to move the rest of it.

Look for home use you're not going to need pa, especially a dual 18, in fact studio stuff with a proper studio sub would be alot better, as pa tends to get abit boomy up close.