Thinking of Turntablism? Beginner Questions v1

conCuss

So I thought I would try and give something back to the community, as for helping me get into Turntablism. 

Firstly, I have loved hip hop all of my life, and have been thinking about getting turntables for years and years, until I recently saw DJ Premier at the Metro in Sydney this year (one of the best nights of my life). 

This made me pull the trigger and look into getting a pair of decks and a mixer.

Now as A beginner myself, please feel free to correct my advice.

Q. First things First, Pre-Owned or New?

Before you go and blow 1K + on a hobby you might just give up after a month or two , I would highly recommend buying pre owned, if you decide to move on from the hobby , you can resell / not have such a burning hole in your pocket

Q. What should I look for in a pair of decks ??

there are two types of decks, direct drive and belt driven

Direct Drive is the way to go, as scratching / djing places a lot of stress on the turntable itself causing a belt drive too pop off or break

Tonearm quality

many dj's go for straight arm tonearms, as they are designed to skip less when scratching, however this can increase record wear

High Torque

Q. So iv found a pair of high torque, direct drive decks , what next? The Mixer..

The mixer can be said to be one of the most important tools in a Turntabalist setup.

So Can I just choose any mixer?

You can just choose any mixer, give it a go and find the limitation of the mixer but for scratching its recommend to look for these certain things..

Curve Adjustment -

Make things easier for yourself, look for a mixer which you can adjust to have sharp crossfader curve adjustment, making it easier to scratch and cut sounds. This will explain what crossfader curve adjustment is..

Channels,

2 or 3, it doesn't matter as you are starting out

Fader quality ,