RhemyD Console Mod *work in progress*

RhemyD

OK for those who don't already no i pride myself as a bit of an electrical technician. I've been soldering since i was about 9 years old and am now studying Electrical Engineering at Adelaide University. I'm also in a prime position because i'm now starting to put together my own rig and equipment. Ideally my setup is going to be as wireless as possible at the end of it (being a mobile and all) achieved through wireless AV transmitters and a whole heap of other stuff. For now this is my console upgrade version two.

(Full document and project will eventually be loaded up at http://mods.rhemydentertainment.com.au/

imgp1648fr2.jpg

(Initial Layout)

- Initial layout consists of a console comprising of equipment 10+ years old (CD rack has manufacture date of Oct 98).

○ American DJ XDM-352 Preamp mixer-

○ American DJ DCD-PRO300 Dual CD Rack

- Panel mount on side of console has two RCA inputs and one RCA master output. In setup "as is" is not useable for a DJ console for my mobile setup.

- For system to become usable will need balanced output in XLR format on right hand side to link to amp or active speakers.

- Unit will also need DAC3 controller installed and USB port placed on side of unit for computer to interface with.

imgp1770eo8.jpg

(Installed XLR and USB)

- Console hardware was removed and wood was removed from the bottom just above the handle as well as the section separating the mixer and CD controller. Additionally wood was removed from above the CD Controller.

- This enabled all the equipment to be moved up excluding the dual CD tray. This created room for the DAC3 controller.

- Balanced output was achieved through XLR MF patch cables with mountable female plugs. Plugs and cable bought from Jaycar.

- Several USB configurations were trialed and tested. Final result used was achieved by mounting A end of AB USB cable onto a piece of stiffened reinforced cardboard screwed onto RHS of box.

imgp1771dq1.jpg