Hello - a long time in the making

laidbacklush

• 2 months later...

Hello

After waiting over 6 weeks for it to arrive, i finally have my Mixstream Pro.  Love it.

I am completely new to DJing but i'm picking it up fairly quickly in terms of transitions, beat matching etc, counting bars etc. thanks to the Digital DJ Tips tutorials.

I have a question re: starting a music collection from scratch.  I know i can use Beatport and other streaming services, but if i wanted to build a collection of mp3 or FLAC files, where would i start?

Im aware of Soulseek but is it common for people to sell thumbdrives loaded with a particular genre, e.g. old skool, a particular label e.g Strictly Rhythm or a particular DJ?

Cheers

Dan

I use AIFF files (similar to FLAC in that they're both lossless), but MP3 is fine especially if you're not playing on big club/festival systems. MP3 also uses a lot less space.

I get my music off Bandcamp as first preference, as more money gets back to the artist when buying on there. They also don't charge extra for FLAC/AIFF files like many other sites do. I get some other stuff off Traxsource, then Beatport as last resort. Also heaps of free stuff on Soundcloud. I prefer this to Soulseek as they support the artists as opposed to illegal downloads. I personally also prefer to have a smaller collection of songs I like and know well (and therefore can mix better) rather than a huge collection of stuff that I don't know well and might not even like every track that much.

Hi Mitch

Thanks for your response, lots of good info there.

I wasn’t sure even aware of the AIFF format but my Mixstream Pro is able to analyze and play many formats including AIFF. I agree with your thinking on downloading en masse - I’m very targeted in what i download to avoid clogging up my collection with songs i won’t play.

Cheers

Dan

• 6 months later...
On 26/11/2021 at 2:35 AM, laidbacklush said:

Hi,