Using tracks from iTunes in clubs

Suby

This may have been covered before but I cant find it and I feel its a question I need to know (i'm still a beginner) so I havent posted this in the Club section.

Whats peoples views on using songs from iTunes in sets in clubs, are they good enough quality or stay clear? I have a couple of songs i'd like to use that I can only find on iTunes but I am scared to use them incase they sound shit on a bigger system...

Thoughts?

Itunes dont sell 320kbps mp3, its their own format. 256kpbs AAC. But because its not the same format you cant compare the numbers like that.

I have read that it is as good. Back in the day itunes sold 190 something bit rate which were crappier.

In terms of your q, i know craze and ztrip have said they buy from itunes. Whether they playout with these i can only assume. (edit: well at least one of them but cant remember who. And no i dont have links as evidence. Its on their blogs/forums or on dj times or in mixmag)

to be honest its hard to tell the difference between 320 n 256 on most speakers anyway, monitors you can tell pretty easy...not sure about a club set up

look at it this way, you know the intro to cinima - benni bennasi how it sounds really tinny and shit all the time...then the rest of the song sounds fine...they play that in the clubs all the time so i wouldnt worry about it unless the song is some crazy 50kbs or some shit lol

what you wanna go for is 320kbps MP3, or if you can get it as a WAV, go for that

having said that, people recon they can tell a massive difference between 256kbps and 320...... i call bullshit

ive tested a couple of mates who all claim they have awesome ears and can tell the difference, and i played the same song to them (one at 320 and the other at 256)... they couldnt pick which was 320

moral of the story: go for WAV, 320 MP3, and worst case scenario 256... dont go lower than that though