Cdjs to vinyl

DJedidiah

Hey,

Ive been looking at making the transfer to vinyl from cdjs. I have no knowledge in vinyl and would like to have a bedroom setup to muck around on and possibly play put in the future. I'm just running a 350. Complete setup and was wondering exactly what I would need.

Is my 350 mixer suitable?

What is the industry standard program for viny, serato? If so why?

What sort of budget would I need for 2 turntables, no I won't need 1200s, just something that is around the intermediate level.

And what is the difference between all the different "types" of vinyl available?

I know all these questions are very beginner ish but I thought this would be the best place to ask them.

Thanks in advance for any answers

Is my 350 mixer suitable?

any mixer that has two channels is fine. if you want to get into a bit of wigga wigga then a smooth cross fader (and one that lasts) is preferable, but not need for learning. for mixing i rarely touch the cross fader

What is the industry standard program for viny, serato? If so why?

hmmm. this is an argueable point. serato was first, so many that jumped straight onto it, cant move. so a lot of people using vinyl do use serato. traktor scratch pro is however used by a lot of dj's, even some of the best (craze!).

again depends on what you want. i pretty much use the dvs nothing more than to be my record crate, so serato and tsp have no advantage to each other. so look into the features available and see whether you will ever need them.

also look at your budget. i ended up w tsp purely because it was cheaper at the time.

What sort of budget would I need for 2 turntables, no I won't need 1200s, just something that is around the intermediate level.

2 x 1200's - on ebay if you search and wait long enough, you may be able to get at $1K. but up to $2K. Note crundos is selling!

2 x ST-150's new are about $1.5K may be even cheaper. so second hand you should be able to get both for less than a $1K