What gear should a beginner get

Jrad

Hey all.

I'm just starting out and i really have no idea what type of gear i should get. I am thinking of going Vinyl (because my mates who DJ tell me it is way more fun), but i'm not sure if Vinyl is better than CDJ. Also, i am willing to spend around 2.4 grand to get a set up, as this is something i want to continue with for years to come.

If anyone could give me some advice on the best set up i could get for that price, that would be great. Also, is it worth buying a program like Serato for the laptop, as i am most likely going to be using a laptop whilst DJing.

Cheers.

i personally like mp3/electronic DJing but thats just me, im still very fresh, about month and a half, maybe 2 months, when i was looking at cdj i got recommended to get cdj400 the most,a good started that will teach me lots and wont need an upgrade for ages

i didnt go with it but thats what i got the most if that helps :)

Serato or the like for sure if you want the feel of vinyl. $2-3 a track instead of 20, pays for itself in no time

that's a good budget so you just need to confirm the tt or cdj side

2nd hand technics will be around a thousand, maybe xone 22 for the mixer. Few hundred fir you software and 1-200 for decent headphones

Ah right, sorry didn't realize there was an intro section :P

Yeah i'm more into house music, so you think CDJ would be the way to go? I did have a look at the Pioneer CDJ 350 and DJM 350 and the package was about 2500. Would that be a good starting off point?

Cheers

hey mate i actully think the cdj400's are better, just take a look at what they both have on them and see what one you like, the cdj400 pack (2Xcdj400, 1Xdjm400) is 2199 i think from store dj and shipping shouldn't be to much more, good luck with what ever you go for

look @

turntables (~$1k 2nd hand pair)

technics 1200/ 1210

stanton st-150/ str8-150

(account for new needles and carts if needed $200+)

mixer go for a 2chan to start.

pioneer djm 350