Taken the plunge - First complete newbie mix

Brenchen

Hi guys,

After much learning and reading about how to get started and got myself some equipment, I've finally taken the courage to record a mix of six tracks together.

It's nothing fancy, just beatmatching and joining tracks together from head-to-tail, played around with some effects which was fun at the time but sounded awful afterwards :oops:, and also pressed a wrong cue on a playing track by accident :cry: when I was trying to cue up the next track.

I would be much appreciated to receive some comments and CCs for this mix. Thanks in advance.

Brendan

the effects cut into it abit from my opinion. maybe dont use flag/phaser in a buildup that is already dominated by high lead synths.

echo is great effect but again be careful easy to make a good mix sound choppy if timing is off. quantize is fantastic but it doesnt always make things sound awesome.

wait for the end of the phrase before you cut the backing track. it sounds weird when it randomly phases out.

i wouldnt let the opening track of a mix run for 6 and a half minutes unless mix is deliberately like deep house/tech or something else experimental. keep the crowd on their toes and use your opening couple of tracks to build excitement

if your using trans effect to make a little buildup, cut the effect before the vocal as when it has to chop up a vocal it doesnt sound nice.

3rd transition was abit dicey. try to avoid a bunch of down time between tracks and if there is a long outro/intro make sure its beatmatched. nothing worse then waiting for the next track to start and then the choppy beat rips your ears apart. This will be one of the hardest things to develop to go from 'strength to strength' something i still cant get quite right. that being said, it still cleaner then some club mixing ive heard in recent days.

i liked the use of the hotcues