CDJ vs Software Control, which would suit me more?

Gonz

Hi,

I'm very new to DJ'ing and am moving out of home so I will no longer have access to my Sister's Numark Mixtrack.

My question is should I buy a similar software control like the Mixtrack Pro or should I buy CD J's and a mixer?

-I Would rather spend less than $800 if possible as I will be at Uni and have very limited money.

-If I can dedicate enough time to practice I do eventually hope to play at parties.

-I play guitar and often dedicate time to that in place of DJ'ing.

What hardware would you guys recommend and where is the best place to buy it? I'd rather buy new as I'm not confident enough to pick up faults in second hand gear.

Thanks for taking the time,

Gonz

Great info and opinions. From what I've read Denon DN-MC6000 sounds like the way to go. If any one has any objections I'd be grateful for saving me the heart ache?

I just can't wait to have it set up and to build a decent music collection.

Advice much appreciated guys,

Peace

controller is the way to go for what you want, it's pretty much the same boat I was in.

I've got the denon mc6000 and I love it. I had the kontrol S4 and took it back due to audio problems I had with it.

The S4 was really good, but I much prefer the denon, especially with it being made out of metal instead of plastic. I did a review and comparison on here somewhere that I'll try and find.

in terms of mapping, the denon comes with full mapping for Traktor

No though if I go for the mc3000 or s2 I will probably have around $200 for monitors. I'm running a mixtrack through my hifi system at the moment

which is probably a bad idea

nah using your hifi system is plenty unless you going to play out or have your kit in a massive room (well depending on your hifi. im sure my technics hi fi could crank a decent size room)

I'm running Traktor 2 but not a legit version. Will this cause me any headaches? Can't stomach $700 on mixing software