How do DJs look so busy?

What are DJs do during the first song of the drop when they mix in the second? I see them put their headphones on doing something but they also put headphones during the second drop which is where they attempt to beatmatch and mix... Also when they EQ or beatmatch they seem to have many buttons to press or something... (They look so busy) Not sure if im just a noob but I take half the time they take.... Thanks!!!! :--F

i've seen DJ's that are just looking busy twisting imaginary knobs and just flicking cross faders on channels not in use. using maschine's that don't even exist rofl

when i play... i'm looking for the next track, finding a good spot in the track to mix into, cue it, fix gains if need be (i don't normalize my tracks rofl) and just repeat. also doing the typical waving around and jumping behind the booth, not my choice rofl

You need to make micro adjustments to the bass/treble etc with such fine adjustments that nobody can make out any difference. All the while pulling the hand away from the knobs in a sharp motion, in time with the music.

I believe this is the last skill you learn in intermediary DJ school before moving to the advanced cake toss.

But in all seriousness I don't know either. But I'm an extremely average bedroom DJ.

Yeah I get too bored between tracks and lose my shit when I know the next track I've got cued up is a massive one.

So I might try to mix it in a bit earlier while the current track is playing - might try this a couple times, if it fails I stop and wait and drop it when it's meant to be mixed during the outro of the playing track.

That would probably make me look busy.

Or skipping through tracks to find one that works.

Tinkering with highs/meds/lows/effects.

Preparing my cake etc

Me and Mitch usually drink beers and work out what song to play next.

If I'm wankered I press all the buttons, depends on the night really.

Andy normally presses lots of buttons :P